03
May
10

Age Group Duathlon

So it has been with some amusement that I find myself in France for the Age Group European Duathlon Championships. I say amusement as I only started doing these to help me recover from injury and put my name on the list of interested people for a laugh.

I admit that when I first qualified my first comment was “OH the good people can’t be coming then” Funny as that was on arriving in France to see a huge British team it became obvious that some very good British athletes are here but also lots of people like me. Here because they were prepared to pay.

I also looked at the world qualifiers and not many of them are here and I have not qualified for that :¬(

The course – 4 laps out and back largely on trail for the first run

8 lap bike with a good hill and decent

2nd run 2 laps of the first course.

Lets get the obvious out of the way, all the distances were WRONG and far too short. Frankly glad I wear a garmin as I would have felt terrible claiming PBs when so much distance was missing.

So I line up with all the VETS and off we go. Got into my running quickly and felt good, found a few people to run with and started working through the field. Lap3 and although going forward my left leg was talking again(sure it is in my head) I kept running and pulled away from a few people. Sadly my pace was not as I wanted so seeing sub 33 for the first 10km was a shock:¬0

A good transition saw me out on the bike and playing on the crit circuit.(reports said a road bike was a good idea, glad I ignored them and used the TT bike) Pace was solid all the way through and using the aero bottle on the bike got me drinking fluids. My most solid Duathlon bike yet.

The 2nd run and finally in a duathlon the Dark Lord of racing appeared as I started to chase down people in my age group.

The time in the end was irrelevant given the course distances, the fact that I wanted to race the whole way was great.

Went out and did an hour on the bike in the evening as well. All is good in my world.

Gobi

2 Responses to “Age Group Duathlon”


  1. 1 Hammerite
    May 3, 2010 at 9:07 am

    Glad all is good in the land of the darklord!

  2. 2 MoaT
    May 3, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Excellent, well done on the racing aspect


Leave a Reply

History

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The Dark Lord Speaks


