11
May
10

Goodwood Duathlon

The good the bad and my race as well

Good:

1. Organisation was fantastic

2. Closed road course

3. Proper distances

Bad:

1. Road surface,  the worst road I have ever ridden

2. I know it got us the right distance but the 180 degree turns were brutal.

3. Prizes, how can you charge £53 pounds for entry and not have any prizes?

My race:

Run was the usual idea sub 36 closer to 35 but that did not happen, Within 2.5kms it was apparent that my body was tired. Focus just became about working hard. The run in the end was solid but slow and I lost ground on the leaders and was closed on by a few guys in the next wave.

Transition was good with everything where expected and I was on the bike quickly.

The bike, this was a disaster as my head dropped within 3 miles. Well known fact that I hate bad road!!! I was caught early by 1 guy from the 2nd wave and felt like I was going through the motions. That said when I got to 18 miles I had only been caught by 2 others(1 chap did a 64 bike !!!) and my 12-18 pace was better than 0-6. At around 20 miles I was passed by a chap in my wave and finally(maybe as I knew about the downhill and nice road) I got race head. As if like magic my pace picked up and I got after No4. We turned down the hill and I was within 10 seconds. No choice but to push it and go hard. 45 mph and drove hard for the end. We entered transition together.

Transition was again excellent(pays to check where you go) and apart from knocking my shades off(I left them) everything went well.

Last run and although tired from the bike I had no cramp anywhere, pulled away from No4. and caught another chap who had gapped me on the bike.(his hammy had cramped which I can understand). Pace was slow again but very solid. No drop off at all and pretty similar to my pace in the first 10km.

6th place for me and the realisation that I can compete when tired if I accept  my limitations. I need to learn to stay positive no matter what is thrown at me.


0 Responses to “Goodwood Duathlon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


History

May 2010
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The Dark Lord Speaks