06
Jun
10

return of the Ultra runner

So there I was surfing the web on Friday and noticed a little 35 mile race in Northampton. It was not planned for this year but I suddenly had the urge. A quick phone call confirmed I could turn up on the Sunday and enter.

Saturday saw me running the Eastleigh park run (1st place) and then in the afternoon had me at Track and Field where I took part in 4 events including another 5km and a 400 metre hurdles(two wins for me) The other two events were a Pole Vault(2 attempts to clear 1.11metres and a high jump where I cleared 1.40m in practice but only 1.20m in the event. Scary to think that I had not high jumped since 1983 !!!!! 

Moving to Sunday morning and the 5.30 alarm which was greeted with a yeap I still want to do the race. 9Am saw me parting with money in the grounds of an old house in Lampton. 9.55 and after a race briefing confirmed no route marking but a map I was most concerned. Cross country navigation is NOT my speciality. I made a smart choice and decided to run with anyone who knew the route and wanted to run a decent paced. This turned out to be a GB 24 hour team member called Richard Quennell, we were joined by a young first timer called Rob, we were the front 3. From here on Rich navigated and we ran as a 3 all the way to the last check point.  Rich encouraged Rob and I to push on and as Rob had a map we ran together and had a laugh getting lost or thinking we were lost. This was not fast but in the spirit of the day we kept each other going the right way. I broke clear up the last hill and jogged into the finish in 4.45 and a win. A very easy day out with no real stress which is great. Better than that my hamstrings were great :¬) I am entirely greatful to the help I received from both Rob and Richard as without them both I would have got lost and never won today.

The time was slower than I wanted to run but the day was very social. This is probably not an event I would do again as I don’t do guesswork and hanging back very well. Big thanks to the Check Point people who were cheery and helpful when we came through.

Pizza for late lunch, ice cream on the drive home, HAPPY DAYS !!!!!

5 Responses to “return of the Ultra runner”


  1. 1 Alex
    June 6, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Good to see your back in the ultra groove, as it were, with no cramping! Well done 😀

  2. 2 Deenzy
    June 6, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    2 x 5ks a pole vault, high jump and a win at a 35 mile ultra… Did you do much else this weekend? 🙂

  3. 4 Hammerite
    June 6, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Top weekend of racing G. Can you get away with not using the pole in pole vault?

  4. 5 Flanker
    June 7, 2010 at 6:37 am

    About time you ran a proper race again 😉 Nice going too for a win.


Leave a Reply

History

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

The Dark Lord Speaks


