28
Sep
10

Alpe d’Huez Time Trial

An interesting way to finish a trip but it was always my plan to do a top and tail.

First ride the night we got here was 59.16 and hurt a lot but I knew I could go faster.

This morning was pain from early on as I paid for yesterdays 2hour run and Lynnes (@levelojaune on twitter) little ride of basically 10kms at 10% followed by 8 kms at 8% into the snow. In a nutshell a week here and I am smashed :¬)

Pace was poor from the start with turns 21 and 20 being a real struggle and by bend 16 where you should be able to pick up I was barely at 7mph, things improved but not a great deal. By bend 9 I was hopeful of breaking the hour but not convinced I could beat the 59.16 from the first night(early signs of cramp in my calves). Rach appeared by bend 4 and I was not very conversational as I tried to push on. Bends 3 and 2 were a real slog but I was suddenly near the end with turn 1 and the long climb to the finish ahead I kicked hard and then pushed on, the asthmatic hooker was in full effect and Rach heard me a while before she saw me. Crossed the line in 57.07 a PB but slower than I had wanted.

Excuses:

Fatigue and the cold, one ride too many up a tough mountain.

This place is brilliant, already looking forward to next year and the year after.

Thanks to Lynne and Alan at Le Velo Jaune for looking after us so well.

1 Response to “Alpe d’Huez Time Trial”


  1. July 16, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and
    will share this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!


Leave a Reply

History

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

The Dark Lord Speaks


