15
Oct
10

So here are the problems

My swimming – will it ever improve and will I ever enjoy it? Sat here right now I am thinking just give it up 100% stop and stick to running and cycling. I make a pretty solid duathlete and can compete so why bother with triathlon when my race is over as soon as I see the water?

My diet – I have no discipline, depending on your point of view I am as light or as heavy as I am because of all the training. Tonight is pizza night, get the picture?

Why is it I have the will power to stop drinking alcohol and gave up fizzy pop just like that BUT I cannot control my eating habits?

7 Responses to “So here are the problems”


  1. October 15, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Don’t give up on the swim mate it is one of those things tat will eventualy just click …

    And I know what u mean about food .. I have a similar problem … I love my food

    WW

  2. 2 AnnaB
    October 15, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Oh my word I am so with you there (the eating thing). I have the will power to get through tough training sessions, give up drinking etc etc but just cannot turn down that piece of cake or resist the bag of crisps.

    Re: Swimming you have improved over the past 12 months and I am sure more improvement will come

  3. 3 Beejay
    October 15, 2010 at 9:08 am

    LOL that the Google ad following this blog is an advert for an `All you can Eat` sushi bar 🙂

  4. 4 BeerMatt
    October 15, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Everyone has a “weaker” discipline in triathlon: that’s fair enough. But if you genuinely don’t enjoy a sport (such as swimming), why do it? There’s plenty of tough duathlons to test yourself on, and you’re more than just competitive at those. Sounds like you’re improving at swimming, and you may still find yourself not hating it eventually!

    Re: eating. Have you tried to total the calories you burn per day? At ~100 calories per mile running and ~30 calories per mile biking (those are low, other rules of thumb are available), what’s your total? Add your BMR calories for just existing for 24 hours (1500-1800? BMR calculators are available). That’s how much your body should be consuming to maintain weight.

    I reckon you don’t consume anything like that amount of calories per day. Your body is therefore surviving on that intake long term, for better or worse, but it’s not getting the calories it really needs.

    The thing is, I reckon your ‘normal’ calorie intake is the equivalent of living on field rations. You wouldn’t worry about craving a pizza if you were hiking in the wilderness for a week, would you? You couldn’t eat one, but you’d want to, and you’d consider that normal. Pizza’s full of fat, and our bodies are hardwired to seek fatty foods to store energy. Trying to fight that urge off when you live near a Pizza Express is more than a test of willpower!

    The amount of exercise you do, your body needs to refuel, and it needs to do so quickly between sessions. Pizza may not be the best source of food, but it’s high in the calories your body isn’t getting. If you can get those same calories through fresh meat and veg, you shouldn’t be craving the ‘bad’ stuff like pizza.

    You might put weight on in the first week or so, but your body will still adjust back down again. They’re very good at reacting to changing circumstances.

  5. 5 Jeremy Mower
    October 15, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Can’t help you mate, same problem with me chips and cake.
    Swimming you need a good coach by the sound of it, if you have not got already that is.

  6. October 17, 2010 at 7:00 am

    Gobi, the only way to sort your swimming out is to do LOTS. Somewhere between 15 and 20k per week for at least 6 weeks.
    Will you ever enjoy it? Can’t answer that…possibly not, but its a means to an end, and you may take the enjoyment from being better at it.
    G


Leave a Reply

History

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The Dark Lord Speaks


