09
Dec
10

Rest

Alway an interesting topic for debate.

So this got me thinking, as a runner I use to have the 21 day rule, this meant that if I hadn’t taken a day off no matter what on the 21st day I would rest. When I say rest this means doing nothing.

As a triathlete my mentality has shifted slightly and I don’t seem to worry about rest days so much, I have non bike days and non run days and there is always time for a non swim day :¬)

Thinking more I am not convinced that it is purely tri training that caused the shift. Injury taught me to appreciate training and enjoy resting without the pressure of “you missed that session”.

What brought on this blog was the fact that last night come 2145 I was falling asleep and at 0530 this morning Rach said could we swim tonight instead of this morning. Yeah that works and fell asleep again.

I guess what I am saying is listen to the body if you give it a chance it will tell you how much rest it needs.

Following a schedule is great when training for an event but it is just a guide. I’d only worry if I noticed I was skipping the same sessions all the time.

Have fun

Gobi

ps. I do still take full days off it just seems the gap between them is bigger.

1 Response to “Rest”


  1. December 9, 2010 at 8:33 am

    A very sensible approach, better to have a day off than burn out and risk an injury.
    Sometimes as runners/triathletes we push our selves too far, I know I’m my own worst enemy at times.
    All the bravado of HTFU etc….is rubbish, no one knows your body better than you, listen to it.


Leave a Reply

History

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The Dark Lord Speaks


