28
Jul
11

So that God bloke and a girl called Rach

they saw fit to allow me to do the sprint race today.

Rach gets credit for entering me in the shorter race while I was ill in bed and for believing that if careful I could still race and finish triathlon with a completed race.

God supplied good weather and allowed my body to be healthy enough to take part. Oh and these Alps which if you have never been here. You just should as this part of the world is truly awesome.

The race started 2pm so plenty of time to chill out and I did that arriving just in time for the briefing :¬)

Got in the water and lets just say it was cold. Good news was lots of space and time to get use to the temperture. The off and I was smoothly away nicely behind the crowds although strangely for me come the first turn I was amongst people. A wide line and safely to the next buoy and more people.( confused now as usually on my own at the back). The swim back to the shore saw me passing people and coming out the water with others. Looks like AdH is a good tri for the weaker swimmer :¬) My best swim ever and a great way to finish, never panicked was never cold and I was nowhere near last.

The bike – decided that this was my race and just gunned it from the off planning to get to the Alp as fast as I could. Was drafted quite badly and have to admit to being pulled along a couple of times myself. ( funny thing really as people sit in behind you then feel balshy so jump past you to “do a turn”. Of course they die quickly and then jump back on the wheel) Come Bourg though I had done my job well and people fell off :¬) Averaged nearly 25mph to the base of the Alp(10.2 miles). Once I hit the Alp I was all alone and passing people. Traffic was manic with cyclists owning the road and cars doing their best to get past without delaying the riders(The French cope with cyclists better that we Brits do) My fartlek up the Alp continued until around bend 6 where things started to thin out a little. Strange ride really as I knew I was working hard but never felt out of control so was surprised to see a long 55 for the climb.

The run – it was never going to be fast as I had done a little jogging in the morning and things were “moving around”. I jogged out of T2 and just tried to find a pace, no watch as I just didn’t think I wanted to know how slow I was going. The pace was steady and I continued to move through the field. Decending from the high point of the loop I heard foot steps and concluded someone was trying to use the down to get back to me. Having not been past by anyone since getting into T1 I decided to risk it and put my foot down. The last 2kms past pretty quickly and my pursuer was nowhere to be seen.

Total time ??? as I had no watch on and wasn’t paying much attention as I crossed the line.

What a great event and probably the one I should have entered in the first place. I was of course blessed with sunshine for 98% of my race and I am sure this helped.

I am now a retired triathlete for the 2nd time.

Will it be final ? I said it was last time and there was a 2nd coming so not going to comment really.

For sale 1 x Blue Seventy Reaction Wetsuit. Hardly any use and never driven hard or fast. Offers

Retired indeed :¬)

That Rach is a bit special so while organising me and making sure I was ready for the day ahead she found time to fit in a TT, not any old TT though but a mad rush up Alpe d’Huez. A mid 55 was a good ride and she won another event in France. Happy days as I got another T-shirt. :¬)

1 Response to “So that God bloke and a girl called Rach”


  1. July 31, 2013 at 7:49 am

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your weblog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some
    content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

History

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The Dark Lord Speaks


