20
Jun
12

Race train and race

After Saturdays PB and depression about how I rode I made the trip to Henley on Sunday hopeful of having a good race in the LVRC ABC event. Delighted to say I had a very good race. This was not perfect by any means but it took a couple of laps to realise I could stay in touch on the climb. Almost by accident I broke clear with 4 laps to go and managed to stay away for just over a lap before the inevitable being caught by the bunch. The breakaway hurt but I wasn’t dropped as they went past so tucked back in and waited. As we headed out onto the last lap I went again at the same point I had gone before and although burning after 90 seconds I had built a gap so gave it everything. With about 2 miles to go I caught the other chap who was up the road shouted at him to work with me. Sadly he didn’t come back past but sat behind me and with 500 metres to go up the last climb to the finish he kicked past and I had nothing. About 50 yards from the line I was caught by the front of the bunch and crawled over the line somewhere in the top 10 and 2nd in the A age cat. Importantly I had enjoyed myself. 

This evening it was power meter time on the club 10, basically I am just collecting data so ride with a powertap wheel while riding with the best effort I can muster. 23.29 was a good return and the effort was actually higher than Saturday which both impressed me and annoyed me.

Funny old game this cycling lark

0 Responses to “Race train and race”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

History

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

The Dark Lord Speaks


