30
Sep
12

running tribulations

Those of you who have known me for a few years will remember when I use to be pretty bullet proof running huge mileage and bashing out sub 2.45 marathons, 16.xx 5kms and pretty good runs at all distances in between. Those of you who have become followers of my blog in the last 3 years will know me as a cyclist/duathlete/runner as I have battled injuries in my pelvis and lower left leg.

Having battled back to 16.xx 5km shape in 2011 my fall in 2012 has been dramatic as on-going leg issues have meant no return to any amount of volume or consistent training and has seen me gain weight and struggle to run 18.xx for 5km.

Recently though I have been running 2/3 times a week and have even done a little speedwork so having been away from parkrun for a few weeks the plan was always to have a pop at an 18 min effort at parkrun on 29th September. Anyone who knows the date will know that was yesterday. I know that all people want to know is was I successful? No frankly it was poor again as I struggled and ran 18.44.

Analysis:

1. Picked up a cold Wednesday/Thursday this week
2. I’m too heavy
3. Lower back pain, for those that don’t know it was a pelvis problem that started my free fall.

On the plus side I ran this time knowing I was not 100% and I can see how to improve things.

The battle is now about how much I want to do and at what cost? Lets face it I could probably run a lot more now as the ankle is holding up but when you know every stride is helping destroy your ankle joint it does not inspire you. I’m also enjoying the cycling and already looking to 2013 with Cycling Time trial targets and VETS racing as my main targets.

The truth is I don’t want much BUT I do want to be a cyclist who is a 17.xx 5km runner.

Oh I have entered a duathlon in November………

3 Responses to “running tribulations”


  1. 1 Stuart
    September 30, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    Hmm. My boss crocked his ankle, kept exercising on it…and then had to have it fused. Now he can’t even walk properly on it. Not worth the risk, maybe? Is having an arbitrary 5k figure worth risking years of potential future cycling for?

  2. 2 canute1
    October 5, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    Dark Lord,
    You have been around the park a few times and you don’t really need anyone telling you how to suck eggs, but I will tell you a story about myself nonetheless. I have had mild episodes of inflammatory arthritis for about 50 years. The joint that has suffered most in my wrist. After the last episode it had reached the stage where writing was pretty difficult. The same episode had left me with atrophy of my leg muscles due to reduced use. I was eager to do some free weights, mainly squats, to get my legs working gain, but I was inhibited by the fact that any torque on the wrist was painful. However eventually I decide to build up the weight gradually, taking great care to avoid torque on the wrist. After about 4 weeks, my legs were a little stronger, but the big payoff was that I could write without pain. I think that the increased support for the wrist due to strengthening my forearm muscles was what did it. Squats are pretty good for the muscles that stabilize most of the major joints in the body. I guess Bulgarian split squats might be even better for the ankle stabilizers provided one is careful about technique.

  3. April 16, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    This is a topic which is near to my heart… Take care!
    Where are your contact details though?


Leave a Reply

History

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The Dark Lord Speaks


