30
Mar
13

Mt Ventoux – an adventure

Yeap I am 5kms up it in a hotel. Sounds so simple but getting here was anything but. 

Starting at the beginning we were in trouble from the start only to discover that EuroTunnel were running late. When you have a train to make in France this is bad news. A good polite chat with the information desk and we were moved to an earlier train. I cannot thank those people enough and will be writing to EuroTunnel to say thank you for listening and acting. We still arrived in France about 90 mins later than planned but thanks to some quick thinking from Rach a backup plan was formed. 

Instead of Metz I stopped in Reims where my bike and I caught a train to Culmont Chalindry. Would you believe Rach had got me in front of the sleeper I was originally booked on ? Well she had. Mini panic as my battery died and my train number did not match what I could see. All was good, my bike and I were on the train(10euro for the bike). Slept ok ish and before I knew it 5.20 had arrived and it was time to get ready to leave the train. I had planned to get my cycling gear on before getting off but thought what the hell a wash and a nice toilet before riding would be better. No chance as the station toilets were closed and I had to resort to finding a corner of the station and getting naked. 

Had a coffee and a croissant and set off for the hotel, I have a 705 so programmed that thinking team easy life HAHAHAHAHAHA…….. Got a few miles down the road and suddenly it decides I have 52miles to go when 10 mins earlier I had 28 miles to go. To be honest I was a bit OH WELL as I fancied the ride but I have to admit the wind and heavy bag got a little wearing so I was very happy when 40 to go suddenly turned back into 25 :¬) 

On arrival in Bedoin I went to a cafe for a Croque Monseuir and a coffee, thought I may as well get into habit quickly. Also popped to the bike shop to check it out before riding the last 5kms to the hotel. I was about 5hrs early to check in but they said if I waited 30 mins they would let me in. Granted this was more like 90 mins but I had a sleep. Once on the room I was able to get power to my phone and contacted Rach who had been on Twitter having a mini panic. To be honest the concern for my welfare was quite nice really. The 2.5hr ride had become 46 miles and 3.5 hrs. 

Felt good to have a shower and a little catch up time before much to my surprise another sleep. A quick chat with the hotel owner established I needed to head into town so I put my cycling gear on and headed to the bike shop for tomorrows ride suppliments and the supermarket for breakfast. I then went to a nice cafe for PIZZA !!!! Happy days indeed. Got carried away riding back up the mountain to my hotel and carried on for a few more KMS 39-25 will be a tough climb tomorrow but I look forward to it. 

Tomorrow will be my turn  to worry as Rach has a long drive to come and join me…..

0 Responses to “Mt Ventoux – an adventure”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

History

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The Dark Lord Speaks


