14
Apr
13

So there I was running

and for the first time it truly struck me that I would actually rather have been riding my bike. Although this is good news for me as bike racing time is here it is still a surprise. Given how little I run now I have become someone who is usually happy to jog with people or run as hard as I can at a parkrun and feel some pain. ie. just appreciate that I can run a bit.

What does this mean? Less running I guess if I can do much less than I do and more cycling. Advice will still flow and I am sure I will be helping at parkrun I just can’t see me rushing out to put miles in,

So as we are talking about cycling, this winter I have learnt something new about myself. It is a well known fact that I hate rain and as a runner I headed inside and hit the treadmill at the first sign of it. As a cyclist I have instead headed for the shop and bought better kit to help keep me warm and dry. This has seen no turbo sessions all winter and probably only 10 rides on the indoor bike and these were not always caused by weather but often by work. This has lead to another question.

Why can I ride outside in the rain yet hate rain? Seems that running I hated layering up and then overheating but on the bike thanks to wind and layers I can over dress and adjust therefore allowing me to remain “comfortable” Not sure I understand that but Rach is thankful that it keeps me off the turbo and driving her daft.

Did over 70 miles on my TT bike today, I think the new bars will really help me and that my position is really close so am hopeful that I am close to a good ride. Unexpectedly there has been some adjustment to riding without rotor rings but then again that could just be the new position in general…..

Did I mention I have a track frame and a new race bike? Well I have and now onwards to the new race season :¬)

1 Response to “So there I was running”


  1. May 13, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    First of all I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a
    quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.

    I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost
    simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
    Appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

History

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

The Dark Lord Speaks


