09
Aug
13

A REST DAY

A proper one not even Active Recovery or an I’ll just go to the gym.

I have used “Active Recovery days” for years and when training high volume trying to build the engine they are crucial but by the same token that is also their downfall.

People just go too hard therefore it stops being easy when there is a hill in the way or you think I don’t like to ride or run that slowly so you just work “a little” and just watch that heart rate rise.

Triathletes really own the use of Active recovery and love to put swimming in there. I remember trying the same myself but if you ever saw me swim you would see that it was anything but easy.

What is the point of my blog? I think this is for my friends who go active all the time just like me as I just wanted to remind them that sometimes, only sometimes though you just need to stop completely.

Train hard but train smart as you don’t win prizes for training.

3 Responses to “A REST DAY”


  1. 1 ColinOlcars
    August 9, 2013 at 7:15 am

    And perhaps devote a day to those who support them day in and day out. “Sport” is a very selfish thing.

  2. August 9, 2013 at 8:33 am

    Words of wisdom as always.

  3. 3 Argie
    August 9, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    Greg does whole years of active recovery.


Leave a Reply

History

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The Dark Lord Speaks


