27
Aug
13

5 days with MiniG

it’s true I tell you. Rach and I don’t see MiniG as much as I would like but we have learned to make sure plenty happens. This trip was no exception.

She started by spending money, cycling shoes and cleats, ok my fault as I wanted her in proper pedals then it was new trainers “Oh I like those” she said so 2 pairs later. Amazing money spending skills indeed. Of course she won me over by then going out on the bike and mastering cleats inside 5 mins :¬) 

parkrun on Saturday was also excellent, I told her to just enjoy a run and 29 mins later she was back without running flat out. I was impressed because I know she is not doing as much running as I had hoped but she is still running ok.

On Sunday afternoon we went to see Percy Jackson at the movies, as always this is just an excuse for popcorn and ice cream but actually the film was ok

(Around all this I have done 2 time trials as well but can’t be bothered to talk about them.)

2 days left and it was time for MiniG to make her TT debut, we won’t talk times as it wasn’t fast but she did it. Suffice to say I just want to leave this comment

“I don’t like them so won’t be doing any more of them, I have retired” MiniG age 12.5 !! I admit I laughed a lot and I have hopes she will do more. Getting her to do a TT on her 2nd outing on cleats was a little mean and I think she got frustrated by the cleats. I was happy though :¬)

Today was the last hurrah and along with Andy and Drew we headed to Basingstoke to play on the slides at the swimming pool. I love being a fit and active parent. Dashing up the stairs and jumping on the slides seems far more rewarding than sitting watching at the side or standing in the water doing as little as possible but claiming you are involved as you are wet. Active is FUN !!!!!! The drive home was good as well, we get time to talk and talk we do. Is it about anything important ? No it is isn’t but is this time important? Absolutely. 

I am very happy with how well we get on and think we survive because the relationship with her and her mother is flexible. The lack of pressure on all sides means that time spent together is quality time and also wanted time.  


0 Responses to “5 days with MiniG”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


History

August 2013
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The Dark Lord Speaks