13
Jan
14

Arse or the National CX champs

The title probably tells the story, things didn’t go quite to plan.

Forward planning was spot on, bike serviced, car packed in plenty of time etc.

Arrived at the venue with Rach and was so early I walked to collect my number, this presented the first shock which was the state of the ground, everything just looked like a bog. Sadly this was no unlucky moment as when I saw the rest of the course it was a bog as well. 

Oh well, kit on bike out and onto course for warm up with Brian, where to run and where to ride was the conversation of the day and I made those choices there and then.

The race, made my usual piss poor start and coming out the first bend I had Rich for company and I was dead last :¬0 Over the rest of the lap I started to make ground until I jammed some tape in my front forks which needed time to sort. Not my day and the worst was yet to come.

Lap2 and I was racing now having collected a few places and with my usual race head kicking in I was running and riding quite strongly. The run / ride strategy was good but annoying, as strange as it sounds being a former runner I wanted to ride my bike not run with it.

Onto lap 3 and my race was really on (exciting at the back eh ?) and then it wasn’t as on a flat bit of mud my rear mech removed itself and some of the hanger and placed itself through my back wheel. GAME OVER !!!!!

What did I learn?

2 bikes are needed when it is really muddy and I really looked like an amateur without a spare

You need a pit bitch to clean your spare bike

2 bikes would not have helped me where I broke it but with a clean bike each lap I may not have broken it

As I look back on the cross season I realise for reasons I don’t understand that I have found a part of cycling that really appeals to me and this means I will want to be ready for next winter.

Watch out people “The Dark Lord” is coming to get you

 

0 Responses to “Arse or the National CX champs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

History

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The Dark Lord Speaks


