17
Oct
14

Banjo Cycles Cycling Holidays Spain

So yesterday was round 4 and my calf went again. Usually I write this off as just being one of those things. Training hard etc. but this is twice in 4 weeks so for the first time I am a little bothered.A little internet research is needed and some analysis of what I am doing. Looking back it does seem to be an evening even issue. I know it happened on the track a few times this year as well.

Ironically that is the Thursday night stuff finished so I may have to do some hard evening training to replicate the issue. On Sunday I shall ride this course during the day for the first time,  I don’t think I have ever see Supermarine RFC in the daylight so have no idea what to expect.

Even with my poor first round it looks like I have a possible top 3 vet position but will be a long way down the overall, I am still more interested in my overall position, I can’t help it I just don’t like excuses even age.

On the subject of excuses, Em and I were talking as I drove home last and I was mentioning my disappointment and she asked me this. “Are you doing better than you expected?” I thought for a moment and said “Yes” but then followed up with “BUT my expectations have now moved”. So this weeks CX lesson carrying on from my first National trophy on Sunday is this.

You can be as fast as you want on the hard pack but without skills the mud is still a dangerous place for the wannabe CX rider. I have gone backwards slightly and now find myself frustrated and  in the interesting situation of wanting more mud and rain. Yes Adam Buckland and Andy Tucker I need more crap weather. The reality is I know I have improved a lot and my skills have come on more than I’d hoped thanks to Morgan and good conditions but now I need to train and race in crap.

Oh yes I am already thinking about next year and I don’t want to be two different CX riders next year.

2 Responses to “Banjo Cycles Cycling Holidays Spain”


  1. 1 dan
    October 18, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    Big improvement from a rookie CX rider last year to a competitive rider this year. It took me three years to understand how far you can push a CX bike in mud with 20psi in the tyres. Still not got the legs to use the skills. See you Sunday mate for a lesson in mudder riding!

    • October 24, 2014 at 6:15 am

      Thanks Dan – Engine I have and thanks to encouragement from everyone I now ride an MTB as well as my road bikes which has done wonders for my off road riding. Will see you soon.


Leave a Reply

History

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The Dark Lord Speaks


