09
Jan
18

The end, the beginning

So that was Cyclo X
It was indeed and should be no surprise to find it ended with a DNF, not me this time I snapped my chain miles from the pits. I think on Facebook I showed a picture of my bike with the TAG Broken sums up my cross season.
I wasn’t even that bothered and that simple statement tells me it was the right decision to bin the rest of the season.
I went to France for Christmas and took my MTB and my road bike as well as a Snowboard, never cease to be surprised that I had not ridden on Snow since before MiniG was born. (my daughter is 17 in March so it was about 17 years!!!!) I had a brilliant week publically where I rode every day, ran on a few days and on Christmas day I went snowboarding. The alone time was however very dark at points as I mentally struggled with a few things that have got to me in the latter parts of 2017. I don’t want to mention names but 2 people managed to push back into my life and throw me into a bit of a downward spiral that has really blown my world apart.
Oh well, life does go on and I returned from France a more mentally in control man, for better or worse I made some big choices.
Enough of all this melodrama, let’s talk about the big topic!!

I did contemplate a mileage round up but…

2018 PLANS
Really simple if honest, a proper go at Duathlons, with this in mind I have not raced at all since December the 17th and have also not really done any structured training instead I have taken a mental break and just ridden my bike, done a few parkruns and ticked over, volume has been excellent but ticked over none the less.
Duathlon Dates
11/3/18 – Bedford AG Qualifier Draft Legal Sprint
18/3/18 – Oulton AG Qualifier Draft Legal Sprint
25/3/18 – Bedford for the National Age Group Duathlon Champs Standard distance
22/4/18 – Stockton AG Qualifier Standard Distance
That is it, my season. In effect I need to be ready by 11th of March as from then it will be hard to make gains while recovering and every race is a full effort. I will try to just tweak my TT engine in the month between Bedford and Stockton but we are talking small gains.
The plan is ready the training events(running, some track racing) are in the calendar, the sessions I need are all in place. It is up to me now.
I have not signed up for Age Group, this is still part of when Gobi reaches 50 can he compete at Euro or World level, I only want to go if I am racing. I am still not ready for the joy of just taking part.
In closing there is one question and it means this blog will end on a downer really.
Am I worried about my legs playing up? Yes I am !!!


0 Responses to “The end, the beginning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


History

January 2018
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

The Dark Lord Speaks