05
Mar
11

Clumber Park Duathlon

As seems to be the trend with my race reports we have to start with background.

After last Sundays DNF I was pretty upset, I was also in a lot of pain. Monday was terrible and then Tuesday not much better although I did train quite well on the bike. Suddenly though on Wednesday things started to click, proved on Thursday with a well sorted bike session and some great hill reps.

Would you believe I got up Friday morning with a sore throat and sniffles. Totally gutted  as you can imagine, the only saving grace was it was not on my chest. Friday then got worse when I took a call from Rach to say her stomach had flaired up. 30 mins later I got call from Rachaels mum saying she had gone to hospital. Obviously I got in the car and headed to London to collect Rach.

We got home very late instead of being in Worksop. Rach insisted that I get up and go race even though she was not coming.

3am as my alarm went off and Istarted to move, this was not good as I felt terrible. I ate toast with Nutella and set off with a plan to get coffee on route. I stopped and got coffee, OJ, Red Bull, lockets and Beachams All in One(a special bonus). I was there by 6.30 AM so got registered etc. It seemed very strange not having Rach with me.

9am arrived and just as my briefing finished I saw Snoo and Beejay who took my car keys and cheered me on.

The Race

Started back from the front which meant I had to go off easy, after a couple of minutes I settled into a pace and just though this feels right. I knew right there that the cold was not on my chest. Two very even 5km splits saw me complete the first 10km inside 35 mins.

T1 – smooth nothing else to say

The bike – possibly went off a little hard and felt a tight calf on the first climb but nothing came of it. Settled in and started picking people off. The weather then came in and boy was it cold and wet. By the second lap Icould not feel my hands(gear changing was interesting) and my legs were very cold. None if this seemed to impact my pace which rolled around with the countryside. I stood up to break things up and probably moved around a bit much.(More time on the TT bike needed) Only back section of the bike was in the last 2 miles where I got caught behind a car which I believe cost me 30-60 seconds. Maybe it was a blessing ahead of the run? Slipped my foot out of my left shoe and got a hamstring cramp BITCH. Stopped at the line still in the other shoe but quickly removed it. 2 guys crashed in front of me and the group meant a slow jog to put my bike back.

T2 – again smooth and without drama

The second run – Oh dear no feeling in my feet and tight hamstrings and calves told me I had worked hard on the bike. The first KM was terrible as I tried to get some feeling in my feet and hope for my legs to loosen off. Fortunately they did and the second half of the run saw me manage to put power down. I made no places and lost no places on the run.

Finished in around 1.58.35, now waiting to see the positions.

Beej and Snoo were waiting at the finish and it was a good job as I had wrecked myself, cannot thank you guys enough for getting me some clothes, a drink and carrying my gear. Took some time for me to stop shaking.

Jumped in the car and called Rach to tell her it had been a good day and that the weather had been terrible(I think she was happy to miss this one).

Sat here now I have a cold and I am tired but I feel good :¬)


1 Response to “Clumber Park Duathlon”


  1. May 2, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    I enjoy, result in I found exactly what I was looking for.

    You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye


Leave a comment


History

March 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

The Dark Lord Speaks